Tee’s STILL Among THOSE Flowers as Lord Byron’s Bed Awaits!

Dear Diary…

‘Today’s Valentine’s Day. There’s a whole day devoted solely to love. Does that make any sense? Nah. Love makes us all crazy. But it’s fun too.’ Lisa Greenwald.

Listen! Can you hear that crashing sound?

Yes, that’s the sound of yet another New Year’s Resolution demolished, kaput, finito, gatavas!

As my intention was to have shared some news with you dear reader at least once a month, this is my February post even though even though we are now enjoying the third day of March.

However, as the rest of the calendar year consists of eleven months of at least 30 days; this would be day thirty if it were any other month other than February.

Not that I have anything against February for not only was I hatched and matched in this month, but I also met my ‘other half’ on the 29th and lest we forget, it is the month for a profusion of chocolates, expensive red roses and some very dubious love tokens as Cupid’s Arrow flies forth!

Even though I would be happy to find myself lost within a profusion of chocolate confectionery on any month of the year; it was to the Brentwood Flower Market that I headed for on St Valentine’s Day to be surrounded by, yes you guessed it, the humble rose!

Yes, it was one busy day and with only moments to go until closing time, and as I finally beginning the arduous task of sweeping up the mess from the floor, while, I might add with one eye firmly on that box of chocolates nestled upon the wooden dresser; who should potter in but that Little Big Cat!

“My Valentine,” he said in a quiet whisper “is the girl next door and she loves nothing more than sitting by the rose bed in our garden on a nice day… She just loves those roses and until they bloom again later this year, I will miss her…”

I ask you! How could I resist whittling up a little love token for Murphy? Could you have refused?

However, I know that I would happily resist and say an unequivocal ‘níl aon’ to making a bed for Lord Byron even though on Friday last I found myself in a fabric shop on a gorgeous day, and on my birthday! And I had wandered into the Sewing Centre entirely of my own accord!

The Sewing Centre is the horn of plenty to a connoisseur of fabric as the shelves of the hardware store are to a D.I.Y. enthusiast; as it is a veritable Aladdin’s Cave with room upon room stacked ceiling to floor with bolts of fabric of every inconceivable pattern, texture and colour and possessed of an extremely helpful and knowledgeable assistant; which in my case, was just as well!

For with the pleasantries observed and the offer of help extended forthwith, I duly uttered; “I have to make Lord Byron’s bed and am in need of some fabric that resembles Chinoiserie in the colours of green and white and it also needs to have an accent of mustard in the pattern. Do you have anything that you can show me please?”

The reply was gracious to say the least; “Let me see if I’ve got this right; you have to make a bed for Lord Byron?”

However, before I answered in the affirmative; I had realised that some sort of explanation may be called for and a pleasant thirty minutes passed by with some cheerful banter about the merits of the delightful Lord B, the wonder that is Newstead Abbey, the virtues of creativity and of personal challenge; which for me sounded a HUGE note of resonance with this recreation of his Lordship’s huge, ponderous bed complete with lavish swags, tails, tassels and something else that I’m sure to have overlooked!

And for those of you who have followed my monthly ‘Tee Time’ with the Dolls’ House Magazine may well recall my column from November 2013 in which I mused about how close proximity to the needle and thread can STILL make my heart beat a little faster…

The logical part of me screams out that it is my fear of failure that holds me back from opening that cardboard box full of the sumptuous silks that I have lovingly chosen as the contents patiently wait for me to gather my tools, open the pages of the book Curtains by Sue Heaser and ‘just get on with it’.

And how do I know that my elaborate window dressings will be an epic fail until I have at least tried?

Dolls’ House Magazine Issue 186 (GMC Publications Ltd)

For as I was to write on my Facebook page earlier today: “Give me scraps of wood, a pot of glue with perhaps some powdered filler, access to a tap and I’ll build you a whimsical cottage. Give me a metre of fabric, needle and thread in which to dress a bed and I’ll run screaming from the room!”

Well, at least in the words of Lord Byron that he attributed to his estranged spouse, I remain “admirably consistent.”

Adieu for now!

And if you are curious about  learning a little more about Lord B’s “admirably consistent” spouse; I have just posted the tale about her on my Lady Byron Blog and it is yours to savour!

'Art is the Only Way to Run Away Without Leaving Home.' ~ Twyla Tharp

