In Search of the Ghost of Piccadilly, Tee Makes a Return to the Year 1815..

Of all romances in miniature… perhaps this is the best shape in which Romance can appear..’ so said the fabulous Lord Byron in one of his many journal scribblings and as a passionate devotee of Regency history as well as an artist who designs ‘Small Worlds’ in 12th scale and who loves to create a scene and not only of the hysterical kind; it is perhaps only to be expected that I would create a Regency inspired miniature!

In 2009, I began the creation of 13 Piccadilly Terrace circa 1815 which is a Regency House complete with a basement kitchen and the attic rooms that will reflect the architecture, interior design, furniture and life-style of the Regency and which has been inspired by the poet Lord Byron and his circle as he lived at 13 Piccadilly Terrace in the year 1815.

hallway-the-entranceway-13-piccadilly-terrace-circa-1815
Welcome to 13 Piccadilly Terrace in the Year 1815! Click on the Door to Enter the Fabulous World of Lord Byron…

Although my idea for the design of 13 Piccadilly Terrace began several years ago, I remain busy with the research and the hoarding of materials, fabrics, pictures with the buying of lots of delightful Regency miniatures; which I might add, is always the fun part!

library-a-pistol-awaits-13-piccadilly-terrace-circa-1815
The Desk Inspired by Lord B in the Library of 13 Piccadilly Terrace…

And although I am proud of my painting techniques, woodworking skills and electrifying abilities; I am aware of my limitations which include a horror of dressmaking and sewing.

drawing-room-the-lavish-curtains-13-piccadilly-terrace-circa-1815
The Drawing Room at 13 Piccadilly Terrace…

However, one of my many grand plans for this 12th scale abode is the creation of the unique ‘Byron Screen’ for the library and which was decorated to reflect his love of theatre and pugilism and used in his apartment at the Albany until it was bought at auction in April 1816 by his publisher John Murray.

After extensive restoration work, the present John Murray has kindly loaned the Byron Screen for display in Byron’s Library at Newstead Abbey; which I was delighted to see on my visit there last January.

the-byron-screen-in-the-library-of-newstead-abbey-january-2014
The ‘Byron Screen’ in the Library of Newstead Abbey…

And another of my many grand plans for this 12th scale abode is to arrange a wedding in the ‘Family Room’ that is situated on the piano nobile and with inspiration drawn from the Byron betrothal of January 2 1815 at Seaham Hall in County Durham even though I shall have to rely on plenty of artistic license with the decor and furnishing of this room being as I am limited to the use of my imagination as the accounts of this infamous union are sketchy to say the very least!

However, as I have studied and photographed the gown worn by Annabella on that cold January day during a visit to the Fashion Museum in Bath, I can boast of one item of authenticity even if it is 12th scale!

the-wedding-gown-of-anne-isabella-lady-noel-byron-in-the-fashion-museum-of-bath
The Wedding Gown of Anne Isabella Lady Noel Byron…

For although I can handle fabrics I can glue, the art of the needle is beyond me and it is fortunate that I have made the acquaintance of Louise from Angelique Miniatures who having positively embraced the art of miniature couture on my behalf has created this wedding gown and the silk pelisse in exquisite form!

the-wedding-gown-and-pelisse-inspired-by-anne-isabella-lady-noel-byron
The Silk Pelisse and Wedding Gown in 12th Scale…

And so as my ‘Lord Byron House’ continues to develop, I will be sharing with you the unfolding tale, the triumphs and the tears and even though I have been creating ‘Small Worlds’ for many years now; the passion to design and create a miniature world remains just as intoxicating, rather like my love of cake!

And on that note, I’m off for a wander into the kitchen of 13 Piccadilly Terrace in the hope that a slice or three of this delicious cake remains mine for the taking!

the-basement-kitchen-and-a-warm-stove-of-13-piccadilly-terrace-circa-1815-lord-byrons-abode

Adieu for now!

Tee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

'Art is the Only Way to Run Away Without Leaving Home.' ~ Twyla Tharp

